Influence of Home – Farming in Nebraska

It doesn’t matter where we are going, we are influence by where we come from.  I grew up on a family farm where irrigating and harvest were considered more of a hobby than actual work.  Home to me is the farm.  It’s where I learned the importance of family, hard work, and faith.

My dad gives my brother, two cousins, and I a ride on the combine during harvest time.

My dad gives my brother, two cousins, and I a ride on the combine during harvest time.

I grew up within 10 miles from both of my grandparents and even some of my great grandparents.  Farm work was something we all did together.  I learned how to drive helping lay out pipe and could drive a tractor before I had my driver’s license.  I have memories playing in the corn, throwing a football with my grandpa while waiting for the truck to unload, trips to the elevator, making lunch to bring to the field, walking on the pipe while irrigating and accidentally falling into the stream of water, getting all muddy, and my favorite-riding in the combine with my dad.

Of course not every memory is a great one.  When we did hay there were some nights were we would be drug to the field at midnight trying to get the bales picked up before it rained, somedays the air conditioner in the tractor wouldn’t work, and the worst of the problems – Nebraska weather.  I live right along the Little Blue River and have seen it flood.  I’ve seen crops destroyed from hail and I’ve helped fix pipe that were banged up from tornados.  On the opposite end of the spectrum, I’ve watched farmers’ crops die from drought.  Whether it was dry land crops that died from lack of rain or irrigated crops that died because of water regulations.

In the Midwest region of the United States, we struggle with maintaining our water sources.  Our rivers seem to flood or run dry more often than they stay at a consistent level.  Laws and regulations are in place to try to help control these waterways, but are they doing more harm than good?  This issue hits close to home and is something I intend to look at in depth.

One thought on “Influence of Home – Farming in Nebraska

  1. I got a vivid look at the drought last summer when I rode my motorcycle through central Nebraska, Kansas, Oklahoma, north Texas, New Mexico, and Colorado. Once you got out of irrigation country the crops looked absolutely awful. Nothing was growing. As I rode back into Nebraska where the water was more available, you could see the transformation in the crops take place.

Leave a Reply

