Trying Something New

Last Saturday I was feeling very adventurous as I partook in something I promised myself I never would.  I arrived with my husband at Fuji Japanese Steakhouse in Grand Island where we would be meeting my husband’s family to celebrate both my sister-in-laws’ April birthdays.  I had secretly been hoping they would change their mind on the restaurant and go for something more like Texas Roadhouse, but I skimmed the online menu just to make sure I didn’t have to fake sick.  Just kidding, but I might have eaten before we left.  I found most of the choices to be quite repulsive but there was chicken and steak so I felt like those would be safe choices.

This may sound strange to some, but my family doesn’t eat much fish other than maybe breaded shrimp and I had never been to a chinese restaurant before junior high or high school.  So this is a somewhat foreign taste for me.  

We got to the restaurant and it was a very classy place.  We sat at around a hibachi grill where we got to watch our food be prepared.  The guy preparing our food was quite the entertainer flipping his tools around, making jokes, tossing food to see if we could catch it in our mouths, and making us all laugh.  It helped make this restaurant more than just a dining choice, but an experience and one you would want to come back for.  I ordered chicken and surprised myself by trying sushi and calamari.  The sushi wasn’t terrible but definitely wasn’t something I would ever order for myself.  Strangely I actually liked the calamari.  I just tried not to think about what I was eating.

3 thoughts on “Trying Something New

  1. Oddly enough, my youngest son typically doesn’t like anything “strange” (he’s never eaten a hot dog…), but he loves calamari. Hey, squid just plain tastes good!

  2. I remember the first time I tried sushi. It was also the last. At least you tried it and now you know. The reason I tried it was to overcome my curiosity and now I know I will never be eating sushi again.

  3. And my eldest had tuna eyeball juice in Korea recently and liked it ok, but he really dislikes catsup.

Leave a Reply

